App | 中文 |

State Council Organization Chart

Updated: Aug 28,2014 1:17 PM

The State Council of the People’s Republic of China, namely the Central People’s Government, is the highest executive organ of State power, as well as the highest organ of State administration. The State Council is composed of a premier, vice-premiers, State councilors, ministers in charge of ministries and commissions, the auditor-general and the secretary-general. The premier of the State Council is nominated by the president, reviewed by the NPC, and appointed and removed by the president. Other members of the State Council are nominated by the premier, reviewed by the NPC or its Standing Committee, and appointed and removed by the president. In the State Council, a single term of each office is five years, and incumbents cannot be reappointed after two successive terms.

The State Council follows the system of premier responsibility in work while various ministries and commissions under the State Council follow the system of ministerial responsibility. In dealing with foreign affairs, State councillors can conduct important activities on behalf the premier after being entrusted by the premier of the State Council. The auditor-general is the head of the State Auditing Administration, in charge of auditing and supervising State finances. The secretary-general, under the premier, is responsible for the day-to-day work of the State Council and is in charge of the general office of the State Council.

The State Council is responsible for carrying out the principles and policies of the Communist Party of China as well as the regulations and laws adopted by the NPC, and dealing with such affairs as China’s internal politics, diplomacy, national defense, finance, economy, culture and education.

Under the current Constitution, the State Council exercises the power of administrative legislation, the power to submit proposals, the power of administrative leadership, the power of economic management, the power of diplomatic administration, the power of social administration, and other powers granted by the NPC and its Standing Committee.

The organizational structure of the State Council

Ministries and Commissions Under the State Council:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs Ministry of National Defense
National Development and Reform Commission Ministry of Education
Ministry of Science and Technology Ministry of Industry and Information Technology
State Ethnic Affairs Commission Ministry of Public Security
Ministry of State Security Ministry of Supervision
Ministry of Civil Affairs Ministry of Justice
Ministry of Finance Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security
Ministry of Land and Resources Ministry of Environmental Protection
Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development Ministry of Transport
Ministry of Water Resources Ministry of Agriculture
Ministry of Commerce Ministry of Culture
National Health and Family Planning Commission People’s Bank of China
National Audit Office

Special Organization Directly Under the State Council:

State-owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission of the State Council

Organizations Directly Under the State Council:

General Administration of Customs State Administration of Taxation
State Administration for Industry and Commerce General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine
State Administration of Press, Publication, Radio, Film and Television General Administration of Sport
State Administration of Work Safety China Food and Drug Administration
National Bureau of Statistics State Forestry Administration
State Intellectual Property Office National Tourism Administration
State Administration for Religious Affairs Counselors’ Office of the State Council
Government Offices Administration of the State Council

Administrative Offices Under the State Council:

Overseas Chinese Affairs Office of the State Council Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office of the State Council
Legislative Affairs Office of the State Council Research Office of the State Council

Institutions Directly Under the State Council:

Xinhua News Agency Chinese Academy of Sciences
Chinese Academy of Social Sciences Chinese Academy of Engineering
Development Research Center of the State Council Chinese Academy of Governance
China Earthquake Administration China Meteorological Administration
China Banking Regulatory Commission China Securities Regulatory Commission
China Insurance Regulatory Commission National Council for Social Security Fund
National Natural Science Foundation

Administrations and Bureaus Under the Ministries & Commissions:

State Bureau for Letters and Calls State Administration of Grain
National Energy Administration State Administration of Science, Technology and Industry for National Defense
State Tobacco Monopoly Administration State Administration of Foreign Experts Affairs
State Bureau of Civil Servants State Oceanic Administration
National Administration of Surveying, Mapping and Geoinformation National Railway Administration
Civil Aviation Administration of China State Post Bureau
State Administration of Cultural Heritage State Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine
State Administration of Foreign Exchange State Administration of Coal Mine Safety

Deliberation and Coordination Agencies Under the State Council:

State Council Leading Group Office of Poverty Alleviation and Development Executive Office of Three Gorges Project Construction Committee of the State Council
Office of the South-to-North Water Diversion Project Commission of the State Council

(Source: State Commission Office of Public Sectors Reform, August 2017)