App | 中文 |

State Council announces 2016 national sci-tech awards

Updated: Jan 9,2017 3:12 PM

The State Council issued a document on the 2016 national science and technology award winners. According to the decision, awards will be given to scientific and technological researchers and organizations that made outstanding contributions to the improvement of science and technology, the development of economy and society, and the modern construction of national defense.

Zhao Zhongxian of the Institute of Physics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and researcher Tu Youyou are honored with China’s highest science and technology reward. The Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment project is honored with the National Natural Science Awards.

Other awards include the National Technology Invention Awards - with three first class and 63 second class; National Science and Technology Progress Awards, with two outstanding, 20 first class and 149 second class; and six China International Science and Technology Cooperation Awards.

The document encourages scientific and technological workers in the whole country to learn from those who won awards, especially Zhao and Tu, and make more contributions to building an innovative country.