App | 中文 |

China appoints, removes officials

Updated: Feb 11,2015 2:19 PM     Xinhua

BEIJING — The State Council, China’s Cabinet, has announced appointments and removals of several senior government officials.

Hou Jianguo was named vice minister of science and technology and will no longer serve as the president of the University of Science and Technology of China, the state council announced on Feb 11.

Liu Qiang was appointed vice chairman of the State-owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission. Huang Shuhe and Jin Yang were removed from the post.

Li Keming replaced Lyu Huangsheng as chairman of the Board of Supervisors for Key Large-sized State-owned Enterprises, and he will no longer hold the post of vice director of the State Tobacco Monopoly Administration.

Long Guoqiang was appointed vice director of the Development Research Center of the State Council.

Wang Zhongtian was named deputy director of the Office of the South-to-North Water Diversion Project Construction Committee under the State Council.

Luo Jun became the president of Sun Yat-sen University.

The State Council also removed Yao Zengke from the post of vice minister of supervision and removed Hu Siyi from the post of vice minister of water resources.

Huo Ke was removed from the post of deputy director of the China National Tourism Administration. Discipline authorities said last month that Huo was under investigation for suspected “serious discipline and law violations.”